• A network of transport solutions
  • Enhancing the travel experience
  • Expanding our technical capability
  • The future of urban mobility
A network of transport solutions

A network of transport solutions Open menu

  • Enhancing the travel experience
  • Expanding our technical capability
  • The future of urban mobility
Plus icon

A network of transport solutions

As Singapore’s premier multi-modal land transport provider, we offer a range of transport options designed to suit the diverse needs of commuters. From modes of public transport such as MRT trains, buses and taxis, to private car services and premium bus transportation services, we connect people to the places they want to go.

Plus icon

137.3km

total route length of the North-South and East-West Lines and Circle Line

Plus icon

365m

passenger journeys on our buses annually

Plus icon

>3,000

taxis in the SMRT Taxis fleet, including the largest number of environmentally-friendly hybrid taxis in Singapore

SMRT Trains

SMRT Trains

Our efforts to improve the journey for train commuters by enhancing rail operations, maintenance and engineering are seeing steady results. We strive to be a safe, reliable and responsible operator, committed to building trust and bringing on smiles every day in all who journey with us.

Lee Ling Wee

Chief Executive Officer, SMRT Trains

As Singapore’s first mass rapid transit operator, SMRT Trains runs the North-South and East-West Lines (NSEWL), Circle Line (CCL) and the Bukit Panjang Light Rail Transit (BPLRT). Driven by our strategic priorities, we align our activities towards building on our strengths and capabilities to enable growth and sustainable value.

Improving Reliability

Our efforts in renewing the NSEWL – Singapore’s oldest, longest and most heavily-used MRT lines – alongside the push to raise reliability on the CCL and BPLRT – are well on track. Our goal is an updated and renewed railway system that will allow us to run more trains, carry more passengers and offer faster connections. Commuters can look forward to better rail reliability, smoother and faster rides and a quieter environment.

To reduce waiting time, we deployed more trains during pre-peak and peak periods. New trains are being added progressively to the NSEWL, CCL and BPLRT, allowing older trains to undergo critical maintenance.

On the NSEWL, we completed the replacement of about 200km of the power rail, which powers the trains, to better cope with more trains and the new systems on which they run.

Our first and second generation train fleets, which have been in service for more than 20 years, have been progressively upgraded, for safer, more reliable journeys.

Our renewed system, with a comprehensive preventive and predictive maintenance regime in place, will mean higher system resilience, and even better train reliability and availability.

Increasing Capacity

Keppel, Cantonment and Prince Edward Stations will close the loop for the CCL when completed in 2025. This will enhance CCL’s role as an orbital line, with a total of 33 stations, including 12 interchange stations, while strengthening the train network’s resilience.

Kim Chuan Depot will be expanded and integrated to house 133 trains, up from 70, and 550 buses by 2024. It is the first in the world to integrate three train depots and one bus depot.

Significant Moments

We began operating the Tuas West Extension from June 2017. The 7.5km extension improves MRT connectivity in the Tuas area.

We were awarded the Thomson-East Coast Line (TEL) contract to operate and maintain the line in stages from 2019 for an initial nine-year period. The TEL will add 43km and 31 new stations to the existing rail network, with seven interchange stations linking the TEL to all five existing MRT lines.

SMRT Corporation Ltd and Prasarana Malaysia Bhd, Malaysia’s leading public transportation provider, signed a Memorandum of Understanding to form the Johor Bahru-Singapore Rapid Transit System Link (RTS Link) operating company, to design, build, finance, operate, maintain and renew the RTS Link operating assets. The RTS Link will help to meet growing transportation needs and improve productivity between Singapore and Johor Bahru.

Looking Ahead

In 2018, we will continue to enhance reliability with our multi-project efforts to renew and upgrade the NSEWL. We will also further enhance safety through a comprehensive review of work safety processes and procedures.

SMRT Buses

SMRT Buses

We aspire to be the best bus operator in Singapore and an international transport solutions provider in smart cities.

Tan Kian Heong

Managing Director, SMRT Buses & Roads Services

SMRT Buses serves more than 1 million passenger journeys daily. We have a fleet size of more than 1,450 buses and 3,300 employees. We operate three bus packages under the Bus Contracting Model, consisting of 99 bus services, three bus depots and five bus interchanges.

A Culture of Service Excellence

SMRT Buses successfully completed our first year under the Bus Contracting Model, achieving good results in operational performance, as assessed by the Land Transport Authority’s Bus Service Reliability Framework.

The customer is at the heart of what we do. We go to great lengths to build a culture of service excellence that focuses on understanding our customers and offering best-in-class service across all customer touchpoints.

We value our commuters and constantly seek ways to enhance the travel experience. In the Customer Satisfaction Index of Singapore published in 2017, we achieved progressive improvements yearly and consistently outperformed our competitor in the last four years. Our first integrated transport hub at Bukit Panjang opened with thoughtful features and technological innovations for commuters and our workforce.

Our People

Our people are our key differentiator. We value our employees and invest heavily to develop them throughout their careers with us, so as to build a competent, committed and professional workforce.

We also place emphasis on our employees’ health and welfare. In recognition of our contributions to the labour movement and furthering the interests of our workforce, we were presented with two awards at the May Day Awards 2017.

Leveraging Technology

Technology and Innovation are our key enablers to achieve service excellence. We proactively leverage technologies that enable and drive strategic, industry-leading innovations in training, customer service and bus operations. A mobile application was introduced for our Bus Captains to keep track of their work schedules, monitor driving performance and carry out administrative tasks.

Our Singapore Bus Training and Evaluation Centre provides training to our bus professionals. We have also achieved full operational capability for PROLEARN, which employs big data analytics and evidence-based training customised to individual driver needs. We were awarded the Certification of Recognition in the Operational and Technological Excellence for our PROLEARN innovation at the UITP Awards 2017.

Our Priorities

We strive to deliver the best bus service to our commuters and achieve the highest standards of safety and reliability for our operations. We are fully committed to develop our workforce by enabling their skills mastery and upgrading their technical competency. We are continuously embracing technology and building new competencies to stay relevant and remain competitive. We aspire to grow our local market share and establish a global footprint as an international transport solutions provider.

SMRT Taxis

SMRT Taxis

In a time of rapid changes, technology advances and disruptive innovation for the industry, SMRT Taxis pushes on for transformative growth and improvements. We will continue to invest in technologies to better our service offerings for both partners and passengers. We remain committed to forming strategic business partnerships to ensure long-term sustainability.

Tony Heng

Managing Director, SMRT Taxis & Private Hire Services

SMRT Taxis continues to enhance passengers’ travel experience, raise customer service standards, and innovate with technology in order to adapt to the highly dynamic market conditions.

Building Strong Partnerships

Supporting Singapore’s push towards a cashless society, SMRT Taxis collaborated with MasterCard to lower cashless transaction costs. Our taxis are now equipped with contactless payment terminals.

We strengthened our collaboration with Grab to build the largest and most advanced taxi and private-hire car fleet in Singapore. The partnership enables all SMRT Taxis’ drivers to use Grab for taxi bookings and dynamic fixed fares.

At SMRT Taxis, we refer to drivers who work with us as “taxi partners”, reflecting their value to our organisation.

To suit the different needs of our taxi partners, we introduced a flexible hourly rental scheme, Taxi Share. We have more than 600 taxis at over 250 carparks, providing 24-hour access. This scheme has seen an increase in taxi availability on the road to keep up with demand.

We opened our first Driver Career Centre, providing a one-stop service to help potential drivers identify their best career path with SMRT Taxis, through driver profiling and in-house consultations.

As part of our drive to offer stellar customer experience and environmentally sustainable options, passengers enjoy newer and greener vehicles like the fourth generation Toyota Prius Hybrid, which boosts fuel efficiency and has a smaller carbon footprint. In 2017, we further strengthened our position as the largest hybrid taxi operator in Singapore.

Our taxi partners take pride in delivering high-quality rides. 109 taxi partners received Excellent Service Awards for 2017 and another eight were winners at the National Kindness Award – Transport Gold 2016.

Customer satisfaction increased for our taxi services compared to the year before. We scored 71.8 points, an increase of 2.4% over the previous year, in the 2017 Customer Satisfaction Index of Singapore.

Working with the Community

We support meaningful community initiatives with Temasek Foundation Cares, such as the Automated External Defribillator (AED) on Wheels Programme. With 100 taxis installed with AEDs, in 2017, our drivers successfully responded to 47 activations.

In March 2017, we sponsored taxi rides for one of our adopted charities, Home Nursing Foundation, bringing patients to and from their homes and a Patients’ Outing Event.

The Road Ahead

We constantly review our business structure and processes to optimise our resources to cope with market shifts, and closely monitor for new regulations.

We continue to build close relationships with our partners, encouraging and rewarding quality services and continuous improvement. We will invest in technologies to further improve service offerings for our taxi partners and passengers.

As our fleet is expected to grow, we will further develop our fleet managing capabilities and system enhancements to achieve efficient, cost-effective ways to manage a larger fleet. We will also continue to reach out to potential business partners to form strategic alliances.

Strides Transportation

Strides Transportation

SMRT’s Strides Transportation gives our customers an entire fleet of luxury and spacious private cars. In addition to filling the rising demand for on-demand point-to-point transport services, Strides will support our taxi partners with greater flexibility in managing their time, with more driving career options.

Tony Heng

Managing Director, SMRT Taxis & Private Hire Services

With the merger of Bus-Plus, Strides Transportation offers our customers a whole fleet ranging from luxury limousine and spacious private car services to premium bus transportation, at their call. Our customers have more options to plan their travel in Singapore in comfort and style.

Satisfying Journeys

Strides Transportation meets the desires of those who prefer point-to-point transportation service on demand. Our round-the-clock operations staff offer customisation and expert advice to ensure our clients have a seamless and satisfying journey. Whether it is providing airport transportation, corporate limousine service rides or point-to-point transfers, Strides always ensures journeys are safe, reliable and comfortable.

To provide new and innovative transport solutions for passengers and support Singapore’s Smart Nation vision, we became one of the key partners behind Beeline, operating over 20 bus routes on the mobile application.

Service reliability is our top priority. Our limousines and sedans are leased and maintained regularly by reputable business partners to ensure that each vehicle is in optimum driving condition at all times.

Our bus fleet optimisation is achieved by leveraging on a mixed-fleet strategy of leased and owned buses. We work closely with suppliers to ensure service level requirements are maintained.

We have established channels of communication between clients and our operations team so that feedback can be promptly investigated and addressed.

Venturing Abroad

The joint venture (JV) in Yangon, SMRT Strides Toyotsu Alliance, is Strides’ first overseas establishment. The JV seeks to offer limousine and car rental services in Myanmar after its successful incorporation. The limousine service will serve the need for premium transit opportunities such as pickups at airports and hotels as well as alternate transport options for business or high-end travellers. With our SMRT Strides branding, Yangon’s travellers can look forward to safe and reliable transport service.

The Road Ahead

We offer end-to-end services from consultancy to service delivery with a view to helping reduce transportation cost. We will keep improving business profitability through cost reduction, by developing our core competency of driver and vehicle management with the use of technology and data analytics.

Our Strides bus services will continue to uphold our leadership position in the healthcare segment, leveraging on innovative technology. We will continue to grow by exploring other viable markets such as condominiums and shopping malls transportation routes.

Strides Transportation will continue to reach out to potential business partners to form strategic alliances as well as evolve more technology-driven processes. Keeping up-to-date with the changing needs of our customers is the key to the customer-service driven future.

Commuter Touchpoints

We constantly strive to achieve higher standards of service excellence. We have rolled out new customer service initiatives for SMRT Trains and SMRT Buses in 2017, offering a better commuter experience to those travelling with us.

At Your Fingertips

At Your Fingertips

SMRTConnect 3.0, our multi-modal journey planning app offering real-time information, has been enhanced with an improved user interface, more accurate train arrival timings, crowd indicator at stations, and bus arrival timings for all bus operators – providing ‘mobility at your service’ to our commuters. Further enhancements will be rolled out in two phases in 2018.

Plan your journey with SMRTConnect!

Download on iOS Download on Android

SMRTConnect image

In our MRT Stations

Icon

Charging kiosks for quick charging of devices on-the-go

Icon

Digital signage quickly disseminates information on delays

Icon

iStand consolidates and categorises in-station signages so commuters can easily access updated information

Icon

QR codes allow easy access to information on alternative travel options

At Bukit Panjang Integrated Transport Hub (BPITH)

Icon

WeCare Shop loans umbrellas and portable chargers to commuters

Icon

Nursing room affords convenience for commuters with infants


Icon

Open-concept Passenger Services Counter fosters more positive interaction between service staff and commuters

Icon

Features for the visually impaired such as ground tactile and braille plates at queuing berths and in lifts


Icon

Interactive information kiosks allow commuters to plan trips point to point

Icon

Wheelchair Accessible Bus services are available


Icon

Video walls add vibrancy to BPITH

Icon

120 bicycle racks installed at BPITH facilitate first- and last-mile connectivity

Case Study

Thomson-East Coast Line

Thomson-East Coast Line
Plus icon

We expect to recruit and train 600 more staff before the first TEL stations open, with about 900 more by the time the TEL is fully open in 2024.

On 15 September 2017, SMRT Trains was awarded the Land Transport Authority (LTA) contract to operate and maintain the Thomson-East Coast Line (TEL) from 2019 for an initial nine-year period.

When fully operational in 2024, the TEL will grow SMRT’s rail network by a third. We expect to recruit and train 600 more staff before the first TEL stations open, with about 900 more by the time the TEL is fully open.

We will continue to push ahead with our multi-year projects to renew the North-South and East-West Lines. We remain committed to raising and sustaining reliability, availability, maintainability, safety and security (RAMSS) across our MRT network as it expands.

Strategic Thrusts

Construction icon Thrust icon
Phone icon See our Strategic Thrusts
  • A network of transport solutions
  • Enhancing the travel experience
  • Expanding our technical capability
  • The future of urban mobility
Enhancing the travel experience

Enhancing the travel experience Open menu

  • A network of transport solutions
  • Expanding our technical capability
  • The future of urban mobility
Plus icon

Enhancing the travel experience

We enhance our commuters’ travel experience with lifestyle conveniences on the go. Innovative media and retail concepts create choice, excitement and vibrancy in the SMRT network. With Singapore’s largest and most connected media and retail network, we reach millions of customers and commuters daily with impactful advertisements, spaces and activations islandwide.

Plus icon

>860

retail units within the SMRT network of MRT stations and bus interchanges

Plus icon

2,200

billboards in our network

Plus icon

97%

network occupancy rate for transit-oriented rental

SMRT Commercial: Lifestyle Business

SMRT Commercial: Lifestyle Business

We will pursue opportunities and drive growth in non-fare rental and advertising through innovations, technological developments and strategic partnerships. This fortifies our position as we build upon our achievements while creating value for customers and partners alike.

Dawn Low

Managing Director, SMRT Commercial

SMRT Commercial contributes to SMRT Corporation’s non-fare revenue and profit through our businesses in media and marketing, as well as properties and retail management.

Partnering for Success

SMRT Commercial actively develops partnerships across our businesses to bring value to our customers and partners.

Our joint venture SMRT Alpha Pte Ltd, leases and operates key commercial areas in the Singapore Sports Hub precinct, including 40,000sqm of retail and food areas at Kallang Wave Mall, Singapore Indoor Stadium and Water Sports Centre.

Our partnerships with The Walt Disney Company (Southeast Asia) and United International Pictures across our transport, retail and digital networks led to promotions for movies like Beauty and the Beast, Transformers: The Last Knight and Star Wars: The Last Jedi, engaging consumers throughout the year.

We continue to partner Citibank Singapore as our presenting bank. SMRT and Citibank launched a new enhanced card value proposition with improved benefits for cardmembers. Citibank SMRT Visa cardmembers can now enjoy promotions and redemptions in new categories – fast food, movies and online – on top of current categories such as groceries, coffee, health and beauty, bill payment and retail. New merchants such as McDonald’s and Golden Village were also brought on board, in addition to existing merchants like FairPrice Xtra, Starbucks and Popular.

Our Digital Offerings

WINK+ rewards commuters with redemptions at retailers and merchants when they travel with SMRT. Currently, WINK+ has 57 merchants on-board, including Miniso, House of Seafood, and Paul Bakery as well as our online e-commerce platform iMOB Shop. SMRT Commercial will continue to grow WINK+ and introduce new and exciting retailers and merchants.

For the first time, retailers as well as out-of-home and digital advertisers in the SMRT network can integrate their offline and online campaigns with real-time tracking of eyeballs, conversions, other key metrics and analytics. WINK+ also entered into a two-year partnership with Nielsen Singapore to offer marketers survey packages that measure campaign effectiveness. The WINK+ CRM platform will be used to gather consumer response, while Nielsen Singapore will lend creditability to survey findings through analytics.

Our e-commerce platform, iMOB Shop, provides an online shopping experience for commuters, while integrating digital advertising and merchant listing services. Shoppers can delight in exclusive deals and seasonal promotions across various product categories. With the Citibank SMRT Visa card as official card partner, special deals and privileges are extended to cardmembers on iMOB Shop.

Advertising and Marketing Solutions

WINK

WINK+ rewards commuters with redemptions at retailers and merchants when they travel with SMRT.

The X Collective (XCO), a wholly owned subsidiary of SMRT Commercial, develops impactful platforms, powerful ideas and a social currency that creates authentic connections with its audiences. During the year, XCO was appointed to market advertising spaces at The Sail @ Marina Bay, a waterfront lifestyle condominium located in the heart of Singapore’s Financial District.

XCO also manages content creation, editorial and publishing, and marketing services for the National Arts Council’s (NAC) A List Singapore, Singapore’s first multi-platform arts and culture guide, which includes comprehensive event listings and must-read articles covering the various arts, culture and lifestyle news and events. In 2017, NAC renewed XCO’s services for another year.

We will continue to focus on growing our inventory of advertising assets to offer multi-channel solutions and add value for our clients.

Driving Business Growth

In the year ahead, we will leverage new technological developments to drive growth for our non-fare retail and media businesses, and continue to grow our partnerships and collaborations. We are focused on enhancing brand variety and offerings as we drive growth across our business lines.

SMRT Commercial: Transit-Oriented Rental and Media

SMRT Commercial: Transit-Oriented Rental and Media

We are committed to enhancing the commuter experience by offering lifestyle conveniences on the go and creating vibrancy with innovative media and retail concepts in the SMRT network. We will also continue to promote and support public transport and public education initiatives through partnerships and community campaigns.

Dawn Low

Managing Director, SMRT Commercial

SMRT Commercial manages the retail and advertising spaces within the SMRT network of MRT stations and bus interchanges, as well as our trains, buses and taxis. Our retail spaces provide commuters with a wide range of convenient shopping and dining options as they travel, while our advertising spaces add vibrancy to the network.

Brightening Journeys

SMRT Commercial manages over 860 retail units and achieved 97% occupancy in 2017. We constantly enhance our Xchanges, MRT stations and bus interchanges to cater to consumers in and around our transport network. The Shop & Dine @ SMRT programme continues to reward the community and customers with attractive deals.

We introduced JR Group’s Chef-in-Box at Ang Mo Kio and Lakeside stations – our network’s first vending machine concept shops. This novel concept addresses a key manpower challenge in the F&B industry, and we encourage more of such innovative business formats and technology. This was followed closely by two vending machine concept stores at Bukit Panjang Integrated Transport Hub (BPITH), our first integrated transport hub. SMRT’s first Vendshop houses machines that boast a variety of snacks, drinks and desserts. We also project-managed the interior design of BPITH, with a nature-inspired theme.

Project: Eco-Shop is a green initiative by SMRT Corporation Ltd and the Singapore Environment Council (SEC). The SEC has now certified more than 100 of our tenants across our network. We continue to promote sustainability by encouraging new tenants to be Project: Eco-Shop certified.

In 2017, we transformed Tanjong Pagar Xchange to enhance commuter experience by adding six new shops, refreshing the directional and tenant signage, and installing energy-saving LED light fittings. In the coming financial year, we will also carry out similar upgrading works at Yishun and Orchard stations, and install interactive directory displays at our Xchanges.

Our Advertising Network

SMRT Commercial manages Singapore’s largest advertising network of out-of-home platforms and digital screens across the public transport network, reaching millions daily through our interactive, multi-channel platforms.

We are continually moving towards more sustainable production practices, using eco-friendly out-of-home advertising papers and ink for our advertising assets.

During the year, we worked closely with government agencies and statutory boards to create impactful, multi-platform advertising island-wide campaigns, for key national events such as NS50 and National Day Parade 2017.

We actively supported public transport campaigns, community, environment, sporting and arts events, such as National Council of Social Services’ President’s Challenge and Land Transport Authority’s Graciousness Campaign.

We continued to back the media and advertising industries, and local talents, by sponsoring trade events and awards.

Improving Our Offerings

In the year ahead, we will continue to add vibrancy to our train and bus networks by bringing in more new-to-market lifestyle convenience brands. We will encourage our tenants to adopt innovative business formats and technology. We will continue to support public transport and public education initiatives through partnerships and community campaigns.

Case Study

OptiMax Activation for Brand Campaign

Plus icon

XCO’s OptiMax trucks offer brand owners a 3D advertising experience and a travelling activation space, a fresh way to connect with consumers in today’s busy world.

Leveraging the wide reach and innovative approach of XCO, new mobile telco Circles.Life launched their brand campaign with a cross-platform media buy. The campaign comprised advertisements in our train stations and buses, as well as the activation of our OptiMax trucks to target millennial consumers at Century Square, Raffles City, Safra Punggol and i12 Katong. The trucks also plied residential and downtown areas around the island, reaching everyone from families to professionals.

XCO’s OptiMax trucks offer brand owners a 3D advertising experience and a travelling activation space, a fresh way to connect with consumers in today’s busy world.

Strategic Thrusts

Thrust icon
Phone icon See our Strategic Thrusts
  • A network of transport solutions
  • Enhancing the travel experience
  • Expanding our technical capability
  • The future of urban mobility
Expanding our technical capability

Expanding our technical capability Open menu

  • A network of transport solutions
  • Enhancing the travel experience
  • The future of urban mobility
Plus icon

Expanding our technical capability

SMRT’s engineering capabilities have grown significantly over the years. As Singapore’s rail network expands in size and complexity, we invest in our engineers to deepen our in-house engineering expertise as well as system-wide knowledge of all aspects of rail engineering. With strengthened technical capabilities and our focus on maintenance as a core competency, we are well positioned to expand our contributions to rail reliability locally and overseas.

Plus icon

500

rail engineers in SMRT, with plans to grow by 40% more rail engineers by 2020

Plus icon

>6,400

vehicles maintained in-house

Plus icon

55%

market share in fleet maintenance services in the Government-owned, non-military segment

SMRT automotive services

SMRT Automotive Services

We constantly seek opportunities for growth, taking bold steps in harvesting the latest technology and knowledge to shape the future mobility landscape.

Tan Kian Heong

Managing Director, SMRT Buses & Roads Services

SMRT Automotive Services provides comprehensive repair and maintenance services to SMRT Buses and SMRT Taxis as well as external fleet owners. Currently, we maintain a total of more than 6,400 vehicles comprising public buses, taxis, two wheelers, lorries, vans, cars and specialised vehicles. In addition to these services, we provide accident repair, vehicle grooming, vehicle component overhaul, vehicle system upgrading, accident claims management and new vehicle commissioning.

Business Focus

As part of our commitment to be the trusted road partner, we continually support and improve the competitive advantages of our internal and external customers through safe and reliable vehicle maintenance with reduced downtime. We continuously review and introduce more predictive parts replacement to strengthen vehicle reliability. As such, SMRT Buses and SMRT Taxis consistently exceed the Land Transport Authority’s vehicle reliability standards.

For our external business, we focus on fleet maintenance, agency, and one-stop service.

In fleet maintenance, we are the current market leader in the Government-owned, non-military segment with a market share of 55%.

We are an authorised service agent for vehicle air-conditioning system by Denso, the only public transport operator maintenance provider in the world to have obtained this status. We are also the authorised service agent for the Masats door system, which is fitted onto all MAN buses.

We currently operate two one-stop service centres, offering services such as car servicing, repair, spray painting, car grooming, accident reporting and accident claim for private vehicle owners. Presently, we are the authorised workshop for vehicle accident repair and motor claims for seven insurance companies.

Developing Our Competency

Competency development is our impetus to encourage continuous skills upgrading. We have been working closely with the Institute of Technical Education (ITE) and vehicle manufacturers to keep reviewing and improving our technical training syllabus. SMRT Automotive Services has obtained an Approved Training Centre status from ITE for Automotive Technology (Heavy Vehicles) since 1999. Thus far, we have trained 76 apprentices, who have successfully completed their National Institute of Technical Education Certificate courses. In 2017, one of our apprentices won the Lee Kuan Yew Model Student/ Trainee award.

Opportunities for Growth

We continue to grow by seeking opportunities to secure more fleet maintenance contracts as well as agency status for more automotive products. We are also working with more insurance companies to obtain the authorised workshop status and increase the market share in this segment.

Singapore Rail Engineering

A C651 train undergoing refurbishment

Singapore Rail Engineering

Singapore Rail Engineering was set up to grow an indigenous rail engineering capability in Singapore, in order to deepen our knowledge, expertise and contribution to rail reliability. We actively pursue growth opportunities that will add to our portfolio of rail engineering as well as maintenance, repair and overhaul services.

Mario Favaits

Managing Director, Singapore Rail Engineering

Singapore Rail Engineering (SRE) was incorporated in 2014 under SMRT Corporation Ltd to provide rail engineering services and transport solutions to rail operators, maintainers and asset owners. Leveraging on SMRT’s 30 years of expertise and experience, we are growing rail engineering capabilities that will contribute towards improving the reliability and availability of trains. We are committed to developing our portfolio of rail engineering as well as Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul (MRO) services, for the long-term sustainability of our business.

Building on Our Capabilities

As Singapore’s rail transport system expands in size and complexity, we foresee opportunities for SRE to deepen our engineering capabilities. We have identified three business opportunity areas: executing heavy rolling stock upgrade programmes; undertaking rolling stock component MRO; and providing Reliability-Centred Maintenance solutions, including data analytics. These are adjacent capabilities built within SMRT that would be critical in strengthening our Operations and Maintenance processes.

WINK

The interior of a refurbished C651 train

In 2015, we commenced the midlife refurbishment of SMRT Trains’ second-generation Siemens C651 fleet. This project, involving 19 trains, is one of the most complex and extensive rolling stock upgrade projects in the market. It allowed us to set up an organisation, develop new processes and start our Engineering, Procurement and Construction activities. In the past year, we finalised the design, commenced building the first two trains and completed static, dynamic and mainline tests. The last train will be delivered by mid-2019.

Through midlife refurbishment projects, SRE aims to attract passionate engineers by offering design and build opportunities. Over the past two years, we have noticed that an engineer’s passion is unleashed when he or she is allowed to build what they have designed. Through SRE, SMRT will be able to present itself as an employer offering rolling stock projects encompassing the spectrums of design, build, operate and maintain to prospective engineers.

Joint Ventures

Railise Pte. Ltd., a joint venture between SRE and Toshiba Corporation, has exclusive global rights (excluding Japan) to deliver and integrate Toshiba’s Permanent Magnet Synchronous Motor (PMSM) propulsion system. This system is more energy efficient and less costly to maintain. Two KHI C151 trains equipped with this system have demonstrated energy savings of close to 40%.

Faiveley Rail Engineering Singapore Pte. Ltd. (FRES) was established in June 2015 as a joint venture company between SRE and Faiveley Transport SA. FRES markets and supplies MRO services for rolling stock components in South East Asia (excluding Thailand).

Driving Future Growth

SRE will focus on delivering on our commitments to complete the refurbishment of the C651 trains, pursue new rolling stock refurbishment projects and growth opportunities that will add to our portfolio of rail engineering and MRO services.

SMRT International

SMRT International

Drawing on our multi-modal transport experience, SMRT International continues to make in-roads in growing SMRT’s overseas business operations. We will focus on expanding our presence in the Asia Pacific region through our partnerships and consultancy projects.

Goh Eng Kiat

Managing Director, SMRT International

SMRT International was established to expand SMRT’s overseas business operations by drawing on our multi-modal transport experience.

Our Consultancy Services

Continuing to spearhead our expansion of overseas business operations, we were recently appointed Operational Readiness consultant for the Palembang and Jabodebek LRT projects. A 25km, 13-station line located in the city of Palembang in Sumatra, the Palembang LRT is expected to begin operations in June 2018, two months before the Asian Games. Phase I of Jabodebek LRT comprises three lines with 17 stations and covering a total distance of 43.5km. It will connect the greater Jakarta region and is expected to begin operations in 2019.

In 2017, we successfully completed our consultancy contract in Mauritius to advise the Mauritius government in the procurement of their first LRT system. Following that, SMRT International secured a new consultancy contract to assist the Mauritius government in capacity building, such as institutional training, network planning and contract management.

SMRT International was also awarded contracts to provide consultancy services in India.

Expanding Our Reach

In the coming year, the objective of SMRT International is to continue to expand our presence in the Asia Pacific region through our involvement in existing partnerships and consultancy projects to expand our stable of contacts.

Case Study

SMRT and University of Birmingham Collaborate to Enhance Rail Reliability

Ng Bor Kiat, SMRT Chief Technology Officer and Senior Vice President, Future Systems, and Andy Schofield, University of Birmingham Head of the College of Engineering and Physical Sciences (seated) sign the research agreement.
Plus icon

At the heart of this effort is the increased use of condition monitoring devices, simulation tools and data analytics.

SMRT Corporation and the University of Birmingham, one of the UK’s top universities for railway science and education, have embarked on four research projects that will enhance the reliability of our train networks.

These research projects, focusing on improving the reliability of rail infrastructure and power systems, complement the effort by SMRT Trains to work towards a reliability-centric maintenance approach. Engineering staff can intervene proactively to fix faults before they occur. At the heart of this effort is the increased use of condition monitoring devices, simulation tools and data analytics. The pairing of academic know-how with the experience gained by heavy rail engineers will lead to better reliability, availability and safety, and ultimately, a better journey for train commuters.

Strategic Thrusts

Construction icon Phone icon
Stratey icon See our Strategic Thrusts
  • A network of transport solutions
  • Enhancing the travel experience
  • Expanding our technical capability
  • The future of urban mobility
The future of urban mobilit

The future of urban mobility Open menu

  • A network of transport solutions
  • Enhancing the travel experience
  • Expanding our technical capability
Plus icon

The future of urban mobility

Developing our competencies to be a future-ready business is a key priority supporting SMRT Corporation’s alignment to Singapore’s Smart Nation vision. As the transport landscape continues to transform, we hone our technology advantage in electronics and data analysis to drive integrated urban mobility solutions. With our suite of transport options, we will provide our commuters with the benefit of a smart mobility system that will enable and enrich their day-to-day lives.

Plus icon

Asia’s first

integrated Mobility-as-a-Service (MaaS) platform, Jalan, launched as a testbed in August 2017

Plus icon

Joint research lab

with National Technological University (NTU) and JTC Corporation launched to develop integrated transport solutions

Plus icon

MomentUM,

a Corporate Venture and Incubation platform, was incorporated to support technology adoption and innovation needed to achieve our Urban Mobility vision

SMRT Services

SMRT Services

Formed to expand SMRT’s portfolio of rail-related operations and maintenance services, SMRT Services also spearheads new and innovative growth paths in urban mobility for Singapore and the region.

Colin Lim

Managing Director, SMRT Services

SMRT Services manages and markets capabilities such as Operations & Maintenance (O&M) of transit systems, Automatic Fare Collection systems, the SMRT Active Route Map Information System (STARiS), Automated Vehicle (AV) and Mobility-as-a-Service (MaaS) solutions. We work closely with the authorities and our partners to provide a range of transport-related services in Singapore and the region.

Capabilities and References

We formed a consortium with Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU) and JTC Corporation to test and develop innovative MaaS solutions, seamlessly integrating multiple transportation modes for better connectivity and accessibility by commuters on a digital platform. In August 2017, we launched Asia’s first integrated MaaS platform, Jalan, as a testbed in NTU.

Our joint venture company 2getthere Asia Pte. Ltd., with Dutch AV solutions developer 2getthere, will market, install, operate and maintain the GRT systems for customers in Singapore and the Asia-Pacific region. We will leverage our strong business networks to target opportunities in the region as global demand for AV solutions increases.

We designed, manufactured and implemented the faregates asset replacement work for stations along the North-South and East-West Lines (NSEWL), Bukit Panjang LRT and the North-East Line.

We supplied STARiS 2.0 for 12 new trains on the NSEWL as well as designed, supplied and installed the supervisory control system for Canberra MRT station.

As the maintenance provider of the Sentosa Express since June 2009, SMRT Services has consistently delivered high train service availability beyond the prescribed standards.

We are also a Facility-Based Operator (FBO) licensed by the Infocomm Media Development Authority to provide fibre optics leasing services. Working in partnership with established local telcos to widen SMRT’s fibre network infrastructure, we have extended our dark fibre coverage reach to Singapore’s data centres, commercial buildings and fibre landing sites. Our strong business links with strategic FBO partners and recent contract renewals with existing customers further strengthen our position as an industry partner of choice.

Venturing Forward

We will continue to focus on deepening our knowledge and capability base in order to develop a portfolio of world-class and competitive rail-related O&M capabilities.

We aim to value-add as an integrated transport solutions provider enabled by a digital platform that integrates mobility solutions for clients while continuing to seed AV developments, in line with Singapore’s Smart Nation and ‘car-lite’ vision.

As we continue to provide integrated mobility solutions for our clients, we aim to strengthen our presence regionally as a visionary urban mobility solutions provider.

SMRT Services

Our Vision for the Future

Urban mobility is evolving rapidly. In the near future, we will see a huge boost in connectivity across our island, while the advancement of smart technology such as condition monitoring tools and data analytics will improve the service quality of transport options, providing commuters with ever greater convenience and accessibility in their journeys.

Seamless Travel Experiences

The rail network has been growing, most recently with the Tuas Link expansion enhancing connectivity in the far west of Singapore. In the years ahead, the Thomson-East Coast Line (TEL) is set to expand the network even further and will serve about 1 million commuters daily by the time it is completed in 2024. By 2030, eight in 10 households will have an MRT station within a 10-minute walk. The upcoming Johor Bahru-Singapore Rapid Transit System Link (RTS Link), slated to begin passenger service in 2024, will take our rail network across the border.

With trains as a key mode of transport in Singapore, we recognise the need for ever higher standards of reliability, to make trains the transport mode of choice for commuters.

We have equipped our trains with condition monitoring tools to enable us to predict and rectify faults even before they occur. We are working on further improving rail reliability. The SMRT-NTU Smart Urban Rail Corporate Laboratory, launched in 2016, focuses on two research tracks for higher rail reliability: developing advanced conditioning monitoring systems to enhance our network’s resiliency and safety, and enhancing the overall integrity and reliability of our rail assets. Key projects in progress include an automated inspection system for train wheel and axle defects, a vibration sensor for the monitoring of the railway structure, and a new tool to detect defects of the railway electrification system.

Filling the demand for Mobility-as-a-Service (MaaS), we have been working to improve commuters’ travel experience, rolling out new commuter touchpoints in our MRT stations and at Bukit Panjang Integrated Transport Hub. Our award-winning multi-modal journey planning application, SMRTConnect 3.0, is undergoing further enhancements and truly provides ‘mobility at your service’ to commuters. Our taxis have been equipped with contactless payment terminals, so commuters can enjoy greater convenience with cashless transactions.

We launched an integrated MaaS platform, Jalan, as a testbed. Jalan seamlessly integrates multiple modes of transportation, including e-scooters and e-bikes, for better first- and last-mile connectivity.

Drivers of Change

SMRT Services has started a new MaaS initiative focused on urban mobility solutions. Through the use of data analytics, the entire transport ecosystem is integrated to enable door-to-door commuting. Our travel planner charts a journey customised to each commuter, including the use of Personal Mobility Devices and emerging technologies such as Autonomous Vehicles, and allows booking and payment on the same platform.

In September 2017, we incorporated MomentUM, a Corporate Venture and Incubation platform, to support technology adoption and innovation needed to achieve our Urban Mobility vision. MomentUM will act as a catalyst for business unit and start-up collaboration across three focus areas: Deep Tech & Engineering, Commuter Experience and Transport Technology. Its established partnerships with global accelerators and investors will broaden the reach and quality of connections to the best in the start-up ecosystem.

Future-Ready Competencies

As we gear up for the opening of the TEL and the RTS Link, we are building up our competencies to be future-ready, by growing our technology bench strength for electronics and data analysis. We are developing our workforce and equipping them with the skills to manage more advanced technology.

Case Study

Mobility-as-a-Service Lab

The ‘Mobility-as-a-Service Lab’ brings together SMRT Services, Nanyang Technological University and JTC Corporation in a joint effort to develop innovative solutions to improve the travel experience.
Plus icon

Together with Nanyang Technological University (NTU) and JTC Corporation (JTC), SMRT Services is developing innovative solutions to improve commuters’ travel experience.

Together with Nanyang Technological University (NTU) and JTC Corporation (JTC), SMRT Services is developing innovative solutions to improve commuters’ travel experience. The ‘Mobility-as-a-Service Lab’, the first of its kind in the region, taps the strengths of each partner to fulfil Singapore’s vision of a car-lite society: NTU’s capabilities in research and development, evaluating engineering trials and data analytics; JTC’s expertise in master planning of industrial parks and developing innovative infrastructures; and SMRT’s experience as a multi-modal transport operator.

The lab will seamlessly integrate existing modes of transport with next-generation transport modes, including electric automated vehicles, bike-sharing systems and personal mobility devices such as e-scooters.

Strategic Thrusts

Phone icon
Phone icon See our Strategic Thrusts